Snow sucks.

Well, the storm they’ve been talking about for like three days FINALLY hit. Yeah. The day I wanted to go grocery shopping. So I got up at 6 am to work out thinking that I was going to be leaving early before the mobs of people appear at the grocery…but noooo. The weather was awful. Mum ended up going and I cleaned house most of the day. Which was nice. I mean…she left at like 9 am and  got back at 3 pm. She had originally expected to get back at 11 am. So I’m glad I didn’t go. My exercise schedule would have been totally thrown off  (I know, I know…I’m being obsessive about my exercise…bad bad me…). But I got a lot done. My room’s clean, I have a nice little office space to do my business, and EVERYTHING is organized. For once. So cool. Plus I got stuff prepped for dinner. Since it was so crappy and cold out we had leftover pizza, salad, steamed veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots), and the Butternut Squash Tomato soup from How It All Vegan! I subbed crushed tomatoes for diced (mainly because that’s apparently all the store had, plus diced tomatoes gross me out a little bit…). It was delish. And really warming. Nothing better than ginger and spices on a crappy cold day :)

I was going to whip up a batch of muffins tonight, but NO. My brilliant father managed to get BOTH of our family’s cars stuck in 4 feet of snow in our freshly plowed driveway, so he had to get his retarded drunk brother and his equally stupid, drunk neighbour to tow him out of the driveway. Brilliant I tell you. ANYWAYS. They had to sit in the kitchen drinking and acting like a-holes DURING MY BAKING TIME. Which made me so mad. So so mad. I’ll have to do that tomorrow. Oh, exciting news. My little sister (who usually hates veggies) has decided she likes cauliflower and is starting to like broccoli! She likes broccoli most when dipped in MY butternut squash “cheese” sauce! I’m so glad that’s a keeper :D Want the recipe? Well here you go:

Butternut “Cheese” Sauce

Yields: 1 Cup

  • 1/2 Cup non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 Cup butternut squash puree
  • 1/4 Cup shredded vegan cheese (1 oz)

In a saucepan (small) over medium heat, whisk together until smooth and thickened.

Easy, huh? Enjoy all!

One Response to “Snow sucks.”

  1. Interesting, I came across a vegan cheese receipe on a raw vegan video that used a red pepper of all things. It came out pretty good. About a week later I had some frozen butternut squash and it seemed like a logical thing to use in color and texture. I used nutritional yeast to get the “cheezy” flavor along with some spices and put this over some broccolli. I thought of calling it “brocolli and squasheesh.” But I guess you came it with it first so you get the naming rights.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

