After yet another long hiatus, I return…with a recipe!

Hey guys, sorry it took me such a long time to post again. I was in an uncomfortable spot mentally with food. I couldn’t get myself to post anything…blogging was making me feel obligated to cook and bake when I didn’t want to, and being around food was making me feel rather uncomfortable. Fear not, that feeling has gone far, far away! I am doing my better with eating and whatnot and have been enjoying cooking more and more. For any of you out there like me who are afraid to eat, this is what worked for me: cook. Just do it. And cook what you like. Although you may not eat what you cook immediately, eventually you will feel like you’re missing out on NOT eating it and will try a little bit. And enjoy it. Seriously. That’s how I am at least (I came to that little realization after making the carrot bisque from VWAV). So enough of that…I obviously cannot list EVERYTHING that I’ve made within the past months, muchless days or weeks…but I can at least share the pics of the meal that I made for my mum’s b-day two days ago:

Black Beans with Chipotle with Adobo Sauce and Broccoli Polenta from Veganomicon

This was amazing (yes folks, I ate it! And man do I love spicy food.). I made everything as directed, except with the polenta, I ended up making kale polenta because I found that my broccoli went all moldy on me (sob).

Kale Polenta

Lower Fat Deep Chocolate Bundt Cake from Veganomicon

 And here’s the cake! Man was this rich and moist. One of the better vegan cakes that I have made. And I didn’t even have to make it low fat myself!! Woo hoo! I also used the Quick Melty Ganache from Vegan Cupcakes. Yum.

Ahh, I may as well share a fun vegan story. There once was a nasty meat eating man who killed squirrels (not kidding). He hated vegan food. One day, his rad-tastic vegan daughter made dinner for her family. That dinner included the amazing sausages (chorizo to be exact…) from VB. He at it, never knew it was vegan, and went on to be as miserable as ever. Minus the fact that he loved the dinner. He wasn’t miserable then…just to clear it up. So, the recipe I made was from Vegan Dad’s blog…the Penne with Seitan Sausage in Tomato Sauce. It was really good. I may just make that sauce recipe a regular for me…and the seitan sausage. I’ve been on a seitan making kick lately, honestly. I’m not so scared of it anymore. I’ve made those, the chicken seitan from LDV…and a bunch more. Next I’m gonna try my hand at seitan o’ greatness. I do prefer the steaming method to boiling.

And now the recipe that I promised!  This is a recipe for a totally liberal spicy (or not…) tofu and/or veggie wrap. I mean liberal. This wrap as as liberal as a tea party member is conservative and freaky:

The Liberal Wrap

Serves: 1

  • 1 large cabbage leaf (or any other veggie leaf. Or a tortilla. Or a flatbread. Or a savoury crepe. Whatev)
  • 1/2 C pressed firm tofu, cubed (or however many steamed veggies you want. Or both)
  • Spices to taste: I recommmend garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, cayanne pepper, salt, but use whatever you want
  • Hot sauce to your liking (added to the pan of tofu/veggies and spices)
  • 1/8 C ketchup, plus hot sauce to taste: Or if you don’t want it spicy at all, use a cheese sauce, or thai peanut sauce, or bbq sauce…anything to your liking. Just arrange your spice choices accordingly.

Mix up your sauce of choice.

In a nicely sized skillet over medium heat, saute your tofu (if using veggies, add about 1/2-3/4 C water to steam). Allow to brown (or until water evaporates.). Add spices, and then hot sauce (if using). Remove from heat and add veggies or tofu to your sauce and toss to coat. Place this all in your leaf of choice and enjoy!

Told you it was liberal. It’s more of a basic template than a recipe…but who cares. It’s good.

2 Responses to “After yet another long hiatus, I return…with a recipe!”

  1. I saw your post After yet another long hiatus, I return…with a recipe! and I think they look AMAZING.I can’t wait to try it as I am a huge foodie. I own http://hotsauceplanet.com/ and sell all sorts of hot sauces, BBQ Sauces, etc. If you want to link to our hot sauces or BBQ sauces for your recipe that would be great. I would also be willing to give your readers a 15% off coupon for hot sauces if that is something that you might be interested in.
    Thanks for the great reading,
    Jason
    Jason@unitebrands.com

  2. […] to grill up…from VB. They’re so good. I used up the rest of my black beans from my bean dish the other day. I sure do like making seitan. I need a “praise seitan” shirt. Vegan humour is so much […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

