Back Again! And I come baring Christmas cookies =]

Sorry I was gone for so long. I didn’t want to blog without my camera (since my little sister broke our old one…). Well, good news. We got a new camera! Woo hoo! It’s really nice…just a Kodak Easy Share, but it’s so much better than our old Olympus camera. So now I can get back to food blogging. Lately, I was bogged down with finals and stuff like that at college…so I haven’t done any blog challenges. BUT! I have decided to do this “12 days of Chirstmas cookies” Yes, there are only 10 days til Chirstmas, but I have been baking and THAT is exactly what I’m catching up on RIGHT NOW:

Day 12: Grandma Moltrups’s Famous Molasses Ginger Cut Outs

Serves- 20 DOZEN

Preheat oven to 400 F.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C non-hydrogenated vegetable shortening
  • 1 C sugar (white)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 C hot water
  • 6 C AP flower

Combine the first three ingredients, beat until foamy. Add the next for in. With the flour, add in one cup at a time. The dough should be moist and a little bit sticky. Chill in the dough in the fridge overnight (you MUS T wait overnight, otherwise you will NOT be able to roll out). After chilling, roll the dough out about 1/8 inch thick, cut out and sprinkle with sugar (if you want to…). Back for 8 minutes at 400 F. You get about 20 dozen using 1 inch, tiny cookie cutters.

These are such yummy, crispy little buggers. Great with coffee or your favourite tea. The recipe came from my great grandma.

Day 11: City Girl Snickerdoodles from Vegan Cookies Invade your Cookie Jar

For some reason, the holiday season just screams “CINNAMON!!!” to me. And these seemed perfect – I just HAD to make a recipe from Vegan Cookies. These did not disappoint. They were really easy to make. They didn’t deflate like the recipe said, but that’s okay – I just pressed them down a little. They taste just like non-vegan snickerdoodles, and my whole family loved them!

Day 9: Chocolate Dipped Coconut Macaroons from Vegan Cookies

Ever since I watched an Unwrapped episode on the Food Network, I’ve been dying to make macaroons…for some reason. And I am so glad I did. I went to the store today to get some unsweetened coconut JUST for this recipe hahaha. SO glad I did. They were kind of fussy to make, but that’s what I expected…but it was all worth it. These are delicious little cookies. Just follow the recipe exactly – they’ll turn out perfectly. Next time, I might try the chocolate variation!

So I have even more good news – SEMESTER IS OVER WITH! I get to FINALLY transfer from that Hell hole, Buffalo State! I move my stuff out of the dorms tomorrow night. And I’m on winter break for like a month. I’ve never been so happy (odd, considering I think I have SAD…). Well, I have all of my Christmas shopping done…I just wish I could get more into the “spirit.” Does anyone else blogging have SAD? I’ve been thinking about doing light therapy…or maybe massage therapy…I’ve always been depressed around the holidays 😦

Leave a Reply

