One thousand apologies!

I know, I know. I’ve been the world’s suckiest blogger lately. It’s just…I’ve been feeling a bit off. Remember that stomach thing that I had for the longest time? Well, that’s finally gone after I went on a week long detox. The swelling in my face and feet is gone and everything! I have no idea what that was all about…but anyways. During that week I decided to make my own little ramen soup. Sort of. Here’s the recipe:

Quick and Easy Spicy “Ramen”

Serves: 1

  • 1 4 oz package of Tofu Shirataki Noodles (angel hair works best)
  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup of vegetable stock
  • 4-6 oz baby corn
  • as many veggie add ins as you wish
  • any seasoning. I recommend garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, cayenne pepper, and paprika.

Drain and dry your noodles. Then just put everything in a bowl and microwave until throughly heated.

Great for a lazy day.

So I have been baking like mad lately. I’ve made numerous cookies, brownies, bars, cakes, biscuits and whatnot. Just haven’t been taking pictures. Wanna know why? Because I was failing at baking. Nothing was working. Until lately. I’ve got my mojo back. I feel if I blog regularly I’ll stay on my mojo. So, an example of something that actually turned out is these cute lil’ cinnamon rolls that I whipped up this morning from a recipe off of VegWeb. It’s really nice because IT DOESN’T REQUIRE YEAST! Yay! :

Ingredients:

2 cups flour (450 g)
1 tablespoon baking powder (15 g)
1 teaspoon salt (5 g)
6 tablespoons vegan margarine (90 g) — I use Earth Balance
3/4 cup soy milk (0.2 liter)
2 tablespoons melted margarine (30 g)
1/4 cup Sucanat (60 g)
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon (15 g)
Icing:
1 teaspoon margarine, softened (15 g)
1 cup vegan powdered sugar (225 g)
soy milk

Directions:

Mix dry ingredients first, then cut in margarine.

Mix in soy milk until dough is soft (you may need slightly more or less to get the dough to a workable consistency).  Do not over mix!

Roll dough to 0.25 inch thickness (0.5 cm) in a long rectangle — about 8 inch by 16 inch (16cm x 32 cm).  Using a pastry brush, coat the rectangle of dough with the melted margarine.  Then spread the Sucanat and cinnamon over it.

Roll from the long end, forming a tight roll.  Cut rolls about 1 inch (2 cm) thick.  Place on a lightly greased baking sheet and bake at 450 degrees for 15 mins or until golden.

While rolls are baking, make icing by mixing margarine and powdered sugar.  Slowly add soy milk to reach desired consistency.  spread on rolls while they are still warm.

note: the rolls themselves are not sickeningly sweet, which makes for good contrast with the icing.  compared to other cinnamon roll recipes, this one is extremely quick and easy, but still soft and tasty!

Makes: 16 servings, Preparation time: 15 minutes, Cooking time: 15 minutes

Actually, I made mine larger, so I only came out with 8 normal-large sized rolls. Everyone in the fam loves them. Half the batch has already been eaten up!

So speaking of food that the omnis love, has anyone else ever made the Cinnamon-Walnut Coffee Cake (pg. 41) from La Dolce Vegan? Well, I just decided last week to make it, and my dad ate up TWO batches. Yeah. Within a week. The only sub I made was subbing Fat Free Nayonase for the faux sour cream. No pics, sorry. Next time, I promise.  Also, I’ve also just found two things out: one being that I’m obsessed with broccoli. It smells, and tastes awesome and it is like the miracle food vitamin and mineral-wise. And two being that I really love making soup! I decided to make and freeze up a batch of the Cheesy Broccoli Soup from Skinny Bitch in the Kitch. It was great 😀 It only made up 6 cups instead of 7 but you know…what ev.

Leave a Reply

