A weird mid-night craving…

…Broccoli stir-fry? Odd? Just a little…do you think? Well, that was me last night. I don’t do take out. I usually don’t “crave” foods period. But yeah…this is what I came up with for a quick-fix for my broccoli craving:

A Lazy Person’s Broccoli Stir-Fry:

  • 1 package of Tofu Shirataki Noodles (angel hair works best)
  • 1 cup of broccoli (frozen works nicely)
  • a few liberal shakes of garlic salt
  • cooking spray

Spray a non-stick skillet with your cooking spray and put over medium heat. Put your broccoli in the skillet and start to warm and maybe even get a little crispy. Add your garlic salt. In the meantime, drain and press your noodles (it’s not really important that they get that dry). Add your noodles to the skillet and heat through throughly, and maybe even add some more garlic salt if you want (I did…but I really like garlic). Then just transfer to a plate and enjoy! It was seriously a good snack…at midnight.

So onto more normal-ish food. I decided to make the cheese-potato pierogies from La Dolce Vegan. Now I didn’t try them, but the fam loved them! (I’m not really into potatoes…)

I know…not the prettiest picture, but apparently they tasted good!

NEWSFLASH! I finally made a good muffin today after like TWO FREAKIN WEEKS of flopped muffin batches. I made the Coffee Chip Muffins from Vegan Brunch. They were good. Real good. Mum liked ’em too. A lot different from other muffins I’ve made with instant coffee…a lot better. I think it was the dissolving of the coffee in the milk rather than just adding it to the batter. But I dunno. They were rad.

They’ll be a great snack to have during class tomorrow. Seriously. What is better than an art class at college. There is like no stress at all. I love it. It is infinitely better than going to that hell hole Buffalo State. For those of you who haven’t been following my blog, I used to attend Buff State College as a fashion major. Now I LOVE fashion (I’m still a fashion major…) but I HATED school. Worst. Experience. Ever. Now I’m going to a community college for a semester while hopefully transferring to FIT next fall…….just so you all know. If you care. Which you probably don’t, but who cares. OH OH OH! Now I gotta tell you about my lunch that I’m having tomorrow. I made some homemade flour tortillas (which turned out a little thick, but I care little) from a recipe off of VegWeb (here’s the recipe…I got 4 medium sized tortillas):

  • 2 1/2 cups flour (bread flour works best)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2/3 cup very warm water
  • 1 teaspoon garlic or onion salt (whichever you prefer)

Directions:

Using food processer put in flour, garlic salt, oil and water and process until it gathers into a ball.  Add more water or flour as needed (if it is dry more water, if too moist more flour).  Form into little balls (should be about 12).  Using either a tortilla maker or the bottom of a glass flatten out the dough into tortilla shape.  Make thinner for thinner tortillas, thicker for thicker ones.  Cook over medium to medium high heat in stick free cookware, or use tortilla maker.

Anyways. I prepped my lunch for tomorrow. I just stuffed two of the tortillas with raw kale, spinach and half of an avocado then pan fried them. Oh. My. God. The KALE! It smelled SO SO SO good. Well, here’s a pic (I’m so excited to eat this!)

Tonight I will probably make the same stir fry as last night just with kale instead of broccoli. I shall keep you updated 🙂

Speaking of updates…I HAVE A JOB INTERVIEW THURSDAY. Yosh. Oh the excitement!

2 Responses to “A weird mid-night craving…”

  1. hi danni. this is ashley roberts, idk if u actually know me, but we are friends on facebook, went to the same high school. anywho, i was curious as to why u hated buff state so much? not that i blame ya, i just wanted to know what motivated you to actually leave?

    • dannibazaar Says:

      Hey Ashley 🙂 Well, I think it was just an accumulation of everything at Buff State that made me hate it…it’s just one of those situations where you have that gut feeling that something or someplace is not right for you. I felt that from that time I went there until the moment I left *shurgs* Can’t say anything in particular really…just the whole area and social aspect of the college.

Leave a Reply

