Can butternut squash taste like cheese? Why yes it can…

Guess what? I finally came up with a recipe! MYSELF! Woo! Not some pitiful veganized thing or anything like that…a legit recipe! Anyways. It’s a casserole. A squash casserole. And it’s good. I had it with supper tonight. It gave me another excuse to use my new casserole dish :). My mum and I loved it. My dad on the other hand who is a total cauliflower hater didn’t even try it. Big baby meat head…*scoff* So anyways, here’s the recipe…

Butternut “Cheese” Casserole – serves 4 (1 Cup per serving)

  • 2 Cups Butternut Squash, Cubed
  • 2 Cups Cauliflower, Chopped
  • 1/2 Cup “Milk”
  • 1/2 Cup Butternut Squash Puree
  • 4 oz (1/2 Cup) of your favourite vegan “cheese” grated
  • 1 Casserole Dish
  • 2 9×13 Dishes
  • Patience!

First you have to prep your squash and cauliflower.

Preheat your oven to 375 F. Now peel and cube your squash and place in a sprayed 9×13 baking dish. Cut your cauliflower into flowerets and stems (or just use frozen) and place in another 9×13. Roast in your preheated oven for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally (squash). For the cauliflower, especially if using frozen, just keep it in the oven until tender. When done, take two cups of squash and two cups of cauliflower and toss in a casserole dish and set aside.

While your veggies are roasting, start your sauce. In a small saucepan over medium-high heat, whisk together your “milk” and butternut squash puree until smooth. Bring up to a simmer. When simmering, stir in half of your shredded “cheese” until melted in. Simmer until thickened to your liking.  (makes one cup of sauce)

Mix together  your sauce and veggies in your dish and top with the rest of your “cheese.” Reduce the heat of your oven to 350F and bake for 30 minutes, or until the “cheese” starts to bubble. Actually, I baked mine for 20 minutes and then popped it under the broiler until brown-ish, bubble-y and a little bit crisp.

So yeah. Delish.

The other night I was a lazy little vegan. I made a vegan pizza with store-boughten dough (tee hee…). But it was good. Just a pillsbury thin crust with 1/2 cup of Paul Newman Marinara sauce, 6 slices of vegan mozzarella cheese, a handful of sliced mushrooms, and some kale. Yumm…I was so lazy. Oh well. We all have those days, right?

All in all, I think that I’ve been having a pretty good week. I’ve been able to eat without freaking out too much. I haven’t been exercising myself to death. I’m slightly less anxious about life. I’ve been able to get out of the house AAAAND! The swelling in my feet has been going down! Finally. That was starting to freak me out. Anyways, back to my anxiety. I’m really considering taking up some yoga classes. Sounds like a good way to focus my energy, ya know? 🙂 Pretty excited…

Leave a Reply

